Netto Gets Another One At Ocean

DJ Netto (Joe Shivak photo)

WATSONVILLE, Calif. — DJ Netto won his second Taco Bravo Sprint Car Series feature event of the season at the Ocean Speedway on Friday night.

His Netto Ag/Penny Newman sponsored No. 88n KCP chassis led all 30 laps around the quarter-mile Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds oval.

With a late-race charge, Kaleb Montgomery finished second in only his second time in the Keller Motorsports No. 2k. Bud Kaeding brought the Al’s Roofing NO. 69 home in the third spot.

Netto and Kaeding brought the field to the green with Netto strongly jumping into the lead as the duo entered the first turn. Kaeding quickly took over the second spot.

Those two raced that way up until the race’s first caution on lap nine with Kurt Nelson went over the second turn cushion and came to a stop. The restart gave leader Netto a clear track to deal with after having caught the slower lapped cars.

Netto maintained his lead but had a close call in the second turn when Nelson tapped Gage Garcia in the rear resulting in both cars spinning and taking up a good portion of the track including blocking the race line used by Netto.

He was able to avoid the cars but Bryce Eames was not as fortunate and he plowed into both cars.

With Netto holding a comfortable lead, there was a great battle for spots three through five as Montgomery was on the move as he passed three cars at once for position moving him from fifth to second.

One last caution slowed the race on lap 27 when Wayne Katen spun. Once again, the restart provided Netto with an open and clear track and he picked up the checkered for the second time this season.

The finish:

DJ Netto, Kaleb Montgomery, Bud Kaeding, JJ Ringo, Jake Andreotti, Mitchell Faccinto, Dylan Bloomfield, Ricky Sanders, Joey Ancona, Travis Labat, Michael Pombo, Bradley Dillard, Craig Stidham, Mark Chaves Jr., Chris Nelson, Koen Shaw, Ashlyn Rodriquez, Jason Chisum, Wayne Katen, Gauge Garcia, Bryce Eames, Kurt Nelson

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.